Friday, November 24, 2017
Gateway to Sikhism

Bhai Deepa Deo, Narain Dass and Boola

Bhai Deepa Deo, Narain Dass and Boola came to Guru Angad Dev, prostrated before him and prayed to him to save them from the cycle of birth and death. Guruji advised them to practice devotion (bhakti) to 'Waheguru', the Supreme Lord. The disciples replied that they were ignorant and did not know what 'bhakti' or devotion meant. They prayed for an explanation.

Guruji explained that the Supreme Lord created 'Maya' or the creative powers. He then ordered it to create the universe and keep it under its control by illusive powers.
He also created four Gods, three male and one female, and said that whoever will seek refuge with any one of them shall attain Him. They were:
1) Vairagya or dispassion.
2) Yoga or asceticism or renunciation.
3) Gyan or path of knowledge.
4) Bhakti or path of devotion.

The first three are males. Maya can entice them with evil ways and means and make them fall from their objectives. But 'Bhakti' is a virtuous wife. Maya can therefore entice the devotees of the first three Gods and not the devotees of Bhakti.

The disciples then prayed for the description of the four paths so that they may follow them correctly.
Guru Angad Devji said that 'vairagya' is of two types:
a) When one renounces his home, clothes, and food etc for the love of the Lord.
b) Other is not to get too involved in the world and take as much as is necessary for maintaining the body.

The Yoga is also of two types:
a) The first type is the yoga of hardships i.e. ashtang yoga and pranayama etc.
b) The second type is to draw away the mind from desires and enjoyments and direct it towards the God.

Gyan is also of two types:
a) The first is to believe that this world is an illusion and only the Atma is real. God resides in each one of us. Thus, wash away the dirt of anger and hatred towards others.
b) The second type is the 'sarwan gyan' i.e. act faithfully on what the Guru says.

Then there is the "bhakti"or 'Devotion to the Divine'. This is to consider God as the master and oneself as His servant. One has to surrender the mind, body and wealth to the God i.e. total surrender.

"Surrender His objects to Him.
Follow the Will of the Lord happily.
He will bless you with everything four-fold.
Nanak says that the Lord is ever merciful."

On hearing this, the disciples started serving the saints and other disciples. They were devoted to the Guru's words and were thus liberated.

Acknowledgement: will strive to be most comprehensive directory of Historical Gurudwaras and Non Historical Gurudwaras around the world.

The etymology of the term 'gurdwara' is from the words 'Gur (ਗੁਰ)' (a reference to the Sikh Gurus) and 'Dwara (ਦੁਆਰਾ)' (gateway in Gurmukhi), together meaning 'the gateway through which the Guru could be reached'. Thereafter, all Sikh places of worship came to be known as gurdwaras. brings to you a unique and comprehensive approach to explore and experience the word of God. It has the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji, Amrit Kirtan Gutka, Bhai Gurdaas Vaaran, Sri Dasam Granth Sahib and Kabit Bhai Gurdas . You can explore these scriptures page by page, by chapter index or search for a keyword. The Reference section includes Mahankosh, Guru Granth Kosh,and exegesis like Faridkot Teeka, Guru Granth Darpan and lot more.
Encyclopedias encapsulate accurate information in a given area of knowledge and have indispensable in an age which the volume and rapidity of social change are making inaccessible much that outside one's immediate domain of concentration.At the time when Sikhism is attracting world wide notice, an online reference work embracing all essential facets of this vibrant faithis a singular contribution to the world of knowledge.