Type to search

Sikhism FAQs

What are the Seats of Authority (Takhts) in Sikhism?

Q118. What are the Seats of Authority (Takhats) in Sikhism?

‘Takhat’ which literally means a throne or seat of authority is a result of historical growth of Sikhism. There are five Takhats. The first and the most important one was established by Guru Hargobind in 1609. It is called ‘Akal Takhat’ (the Throne of the Timeless God) and is situated just opposite the gate of Harmandar Sahib – The Golden Temple, Amritsar. The Guru established it, because he thought that secular political matters should not be considered in the Golden Temple, which is meant purely for worship of God. Here the Guru held his court and decided matters of military strategy and political policy. Later on, the Sikh commonwealth (Sarbat Khalsa) took decisions here on matters of peace and war and settled disputes between the various Sikh groups. The Sarangi singers sung the ballads of the Sikh Gurus and warriors at this place and robes of honour (saropas) were awarded to persons who rendered distinguished services of the community of men in general.

The second seat of authority is called “Takhat Sri Patna Sahib”. Guru Tagh Bahadur lived with his family here in 1665. Here was born Guru Gobind Singh. The building which was partly damaged by the great earthquake of 1934 has been rebuilt. Here are preserved the relics of Guru Gobind Singh including his cradle, weapons and Proclamations.
The third seat of authority is called “Takhat Sri Kesgarh Sahib”. The township of Anandpur was founded by the Ninth Guru in 1665 but the Takhat therein owes its importance to the creation of the Khalsa by Guru Gobind Singh in 1699. The Shrine contains the historic double-edged-sword-khanda with which the Guru stirred the Amrit (baptism-water). It has also a number of weapons of the Tenth Guru. During the annual Holi festival, mock-battles between groups of Sikhs are held here. This is called the Holla Mahalla festival by the Sikhs.

The fourth seat of authority is “Takhat Sri Huzur Sahib”. It is the place where Guru Gobind Singh passed away in 1708 and is situated at Nander in Maharashtra State. Maharaja Ranjit Singh renovated the temple and provided a gold-plated dome and several costly decorations. The takhat puts on display of weapons of Guru Gobind Singh and other relics on Sikh festivals. Some manuscript copies of the Dasam Granth can be seen here.

The fifth seat of authority is called “Takhat Damdama Sahib”. This place owes its importance to the literary work of Guru Gobind Singh done during his stay in 1706. Here the Tenth Guru prepared the authentic edition of the Adi Granth, to which he gave prepetual succession at the time of his death. The Guru held his court at Damdama Sahib for over nine months and imparted training in arts of war and peace to his followers.

The five Takhats have authority in their respective jurisdictions, and recommend punishments for specific religious offences called ‘Tankha’. The daily routine of prayers etc. follows an old tradition. Only the best Sikhs are selected as heads (Jathedars) of these five Takhats.

Previous Article

Leave a Comment