Type to search

Sikh History Timeline

Today in Sikh History – 8th November


8th November

1665 Guru Tegh Bahadhur was arrested and taken to Delhi. The acceptance of Guruship by Guru Tegh Bahadhur without obtaining the approval of the imperial government at Delhi was considered an affront to Aurangzeb. he deputed Alam Khan Rohilla to take the Guru into custody, and bring him to his presence. Alam Khan and his escort showed themselves up in Dhamdhan when Guru Sahib was in the deep forest on a hunting expedition. Guru Tegh Bahadhur and his entourage were rounded up and taken to Delhi. This is the only time Guru Sahib met Aurangzeb. Aurangzeb asked Guru Sahib to show miracles or be ready to be put to death. Guru Sahib refused the first option as display of miracles is discouraged in Sikhism and considered arrogance while competing with God. As a result Aurangzeb ordered the execution of Guru Sahib. But the intervention of Raja Ram Singh, son of Raja Jai Singh, made Aurangzeb to relent, and order instead the detention of Guru Sahib and his entourage under his care. They were released on December 16, 1665.
1899 "Khalsa Samachar", a weekly punjabi newsletter, was started by Vir Singh.
1921 First Akali Conspiracy case initiated. Case lasted until May 8, 1922, Presiding Magistrate was P.J. Rust. Babbars involved included :-

Amar Singh, Kot Barre Khan (Gujranwala) – approver
Amar Singh, Delhi – absconded
Bachittar Singh, Dhuri (Sangrur)
Battan Singh, Kahir (Hoshiarpur) diede in July 1921
Bela Singh, Gholia Khurad (Ferozpur) – sentenced to 5 years term of improsonment
Bijla Singh, Ghuruan, District Patiala – Absconded
Bishan Singh, Sherpur (Sangrur)
Bur Singh, Lussar, Karamn Singhwala (Sialkot)
Chanchal Singh, Jandiala (Jullunder)
Chattar Singh, Tung (Gujjaranwala) – approver
Chattar Singh, Jethuwal (Amritsar)
Ganda Singh, Sarhali Khurd (Amritsar) – approver
Gurbachan Singh, Ambala, District Hoshiarpur, absconded
Guabakhash Singh, Peshawari – approver
Kishan Singh, Birring, District Jullunder – absconded
Mota Singh, Patara, District JUllunder – absconded
Narain Singh, Chattiwind (Amritsar)
Prem Singh, Lahore – approver
Sarmukh Singh, Kahiri (Hoshiarpur) – approver
Sham Singh, Kahiri (Hoshiarpur)
Sadhu Singh, Dhuri (Sangrur)
Shankar Singh, Pindori Bibi (Hoshiarpur)
Tara Singh, Thethar (Lahore) – sentenced to 5 years imprisonment
Thakar Singh, Bhojawal (Jullunder)
Tota Singh, Peshawar – sentenced to 5 years imprisonment


1927 Formation of the Simon Commission announced.
1983 Sikhs of Yamuna Nagar were attacked by fundamentalist Hindus.

Leave a Comment